Personal tools
 

EndNote guide

What is EndNote?
• Saving from:
         PubMed
         Ovid MEDLINE
         Web of Science
         Scholars Portal Search (i.e. PsycInfo)
         Scopus
         webpages
EndNote – UTL Catalogue Connection Settings
new EndNote X3 – Find Full Text Settings
Importing from EndNote to RefWorks
Exporting from RefWorks to EndNote
EndNote online tutorials
EndNote help at the Gestein Library
Where can I get EndNote?

What is EndNote

Software tool for:

  • downloading references from many journal article databases
  • citing references as you write
  • automatically formatting a bibliography at the end of the paper in the correct style of over 1,000 scientific and medical journal formats
  • generating a reference list from the citations in your EndNote library
  • maintaining a database of references and citations
  • linking to pdf's and url's

Saving from PubMed to EndNote 

 (PDF print version)
From within PubMed:                                    watch video (2 min from UC Berkeley)

• search topic
• choose citations
• change DISPLAY to MEDLINE
• send to file
• save file

From within EndNote

• go to File then Import
• find the file name
• choose the correct filter - PubMed (NLM) National Library of Medicine

 

Saving from Ovid MEDLINE to EndNote

(PDF print version)
From within Ovid MEDLINE:                              watch video (3:17 min from Yale Univ)

• search topic
• choose citations
• from the sidebar under Results Manager choose:
    • Complete Reference
    • Direct Export
    • Save

The references migrate easily into your EndNote Library.

 

 Saving from Web of Science 

(PDF print version)

 
From within Web of Science                            watch video (1:33 min from UC Santa Cruz)

• search topic                             
• choose citations
• submit citations “add to marked list” then choose option Marked list
• choose fields to be included from the page heading Output Options
• choose Field Tagged
• choose Export to Reference Software
• choose Export button on the following page
• go to EndNote – Show all References from the References option to see the entire list of references in your EndNote Library.

Saving from Scholars Portal (i.e. PsycInfo and other databases)

(PDF print version)
From within Scholars Portal          watch video (GeoRef as example) (2:30 min from UC Santa Cruz)

• search topic
• choose citations
• choose Save / Print / Email
• choose full format
• choose Text for the Document Format
• choose Bibliographic Style – AMA or other style (This will not interfere with the format style in your End Note Library or in the paper you are writing)
• choose PC or Mac for the File Format and Save

From within EndNote

• choose File and then Import
• find the file name
• choose the correct Import Filter – CSA is the Provider – Choose PsycInfo

 

*** when using the general area of study, ‘natural sciences’ or ‘technology’ for example, most CSA filters should work – however, you can always rely on the PsycInfo filter.  It will always import your references into EndNote.

 

Saving from Scopus  

(PDF print version)
From within Scopus

• search topic
• choose citations
• choose Output
• choose Export
• select options from Citation Output Information
• choose Export

From within EndNote

• choose File and then Import
• find the file name
• choose the correct Import Filter – Multi-Filter Special – this is one of the default filters provided by EndNote

 

Saving from Web pages  

(PDF print version)

• certain Web sites contain a download button that will send your search results directly to EndNote - pick the correct import option, and start the import process automatically
choose the EndNote library into which the data should be imported
• this “direct export” or “direct download” method does away with the additional steps of saving the references to a text file, and then importing that file with the appropriate filter

watch video (Google Scholar to EndNote) (1:20 min Univ at Buffalo)

EndNote – UTL Catalogue Connection Settings

(PDF print version)
From within EndNote:
  • Edit
  • Connection Files
  • open Connection Manager
    • Under Name – U of Toronto
    • Under Information Provider – Library Catalogs
  • choose Edit
The screen below will pop open.
Choose Connection Settings and enter the information in the form fields as shown.

 

EndNote connection settings

 

 

Note - An AUTHOR FIELD search from within EndNote may only find records where the name is the FIRST author listed. If a book has more than one author, and your author is not the first name listed, records with that specific author may not be found.  To rectify this, do an ANY FIELD search to be sure you are catching all occurrences of an author’s name

.



EndNote X3 – Find full text settings

Click here to read about finding full text settings using EndNote x3.

Importing from EndNote to RefWorks 

(PDF print version)
Open EndNote                                                  watch video (3:40 min from Yale Medical Library)

• choose the End Note Library to send to RefWorks

OR


• choose the references to send to the RefWorks
• create a new library and copy the references into that File
• give the new library a name

Open RefWorks

• choose References Tab
• import EndNote V8+ Database
• this opens a new window
• browse to find the End Note Database you wish to send to RefWorks
• choose which folder the Imported References will be in [Optional]
• click Import button

Exporting from RefWorks to EndNote  

(PDF print version)  

Open RefWorks                                              watch video (3:40 min from Yale Medical Library)

• choose references
• add to My List option
View My List
• under Reference choose Export
• choose ‘my list’ or other options
• choose Export Format – Bibliographic Software [EndNote, Reference Manager, ProCite]
Export to Text File button

A separate window will open with the references.  Save as Text File

– RefWorks will save the file as [name of your RefWorks account]-Export.txt

 
Open EndNote

File
Import
• choose the text File
• choose Multi-Filter Special as the Import Filter
Import Button
• references will appear in a separate window
References
Show All References to view existing references along with the newly imported references

EndNote online tutorials

EndNote - links to online training videos and webinars

EndNote help at the Gerstein Library

• contact Dana Kuszelewski (email: dana.kuszelewski@utoronto.ca, tel: 416.978.2340) for additional EndNote classes or to ask EndNote related questions.
• EndNote is not installed on the public computers within the library.

Where can I get EndNote?

EndNote can be purchased at the University of Toronto Computer Store. University of Toronto students with a current T-card may qualify for a discount.

EndNote is not installed on the public computers within the library.